I Did Not Know What To Say Blog

The Olympic Spirit by Lori Pederson

Posted by ididnotknowwhattosay on February 24, 2010

I have to admit that I am a bit of an Olympic Games junkie. The Olympics have always inspired my inner spirit. The powerful force that penetrates through the Olympics makes me feel like I can do anything, even jump on the slope with my skis and ride like the wind to victory at the bottom of the hill. It is invigorating for the heart and the mind.

After the summer Olympics a few years ago, I found that I was swimming four times a week, trying each time to beat my previous record. I may not be young enough or athletic enough to be an Olympic Champion but I can try to beat my personal best each year.

It is always amazing to watch someone give their all to win a Gold Medal. But what is even more inspiring to me, are the athletes that overcome a major defeat by coming back the next day or four years later, demonstrating that they have stepped up their game and have overcome their fears.

I believe we all have a bit of the Olympic Spirit within us. We are all trying to win our own personal Gold Medal by overcoming our fears and getting back up after life hands us a devastating blow. It is our willingness to get up and strive for a better life that makes us a champion.

“It is the inspiration of the Olympic Games that drives people not only to compete but to improve, and to bring lasting spiritual and moral benefits to the athlete and inspiration to those lucky enough to witness the athletic dedication.”

Herb Elliott quotes (Australian middle-distance Runner who was world record holder in the 1.500 metre (metric-mile) race (1958-67) and the mile racee (1958-62). b.1938)

 

© 2010 Lori Pederson
WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE? You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:  Lori Pederson, Founder of I Did Not Know What To Say, a website built to inspire and to provide you with tools to assist a love one through the grieving process.   If you would like our free newsletter on how to assist your friends and family members through the journey of restoring balance in their life after the death of a love one, please visit our website at www.ididnotknowwhattosay.com.

One Response to “The Olympic Spirit by Lori Pederson”

  1. Hi, You have some really Great articles on your blog. I also like the theme and the layout as well. excellent work!

Leave a Reply

 
