I Did Not Know What To Say Blog

GRANNY’S 90th BIRTHDAY

Posted by ididnotknowwhattosay on September 27, 2009

IMG_0309This September we celebrated my grandmother’s 90th Birthday.  Over the past 90 years, my Grandma Dolly has watched the world change before her very eyes.  She grew up in the depression, she had to convince her father to allow her to go to high school (can you imagine?), she raised 6 children, helped my grandfather run their family farm, and she has many grandchildren and great grandchildren to keep her busy.  

She has also been through many struggles.  She watched her husband lose his battle with cancer when he was only 54, she endured watching her eldest daughter Judy die from ovarian cancer when she was only 50 and then two weeks later lost her second daughter Pam in a fatal car accident. Three years ago, she had to watch her daughter Carol lose her battle with melanoma.  She has lived through heart surgery, knee surgery and even shingles.  

So what is her secret to living a long life? 

She has a toughness that comes from living on the farm.   Her faith in God has sustained her thIMG_0346rough the many joys and sorrows throughout her life.  She focuses on the deep love she has for her family and she has a wonderful doctor that treats her like she is his own mother.  She says…I shed my tears, I say a little prayer and I move on with my day.   She is also very passionate about her garden…she loves her flowers.   Every spring you can see her out planting her flowers and mowing her lawn…yes, she still mows her own lawn.

My grandmother has been the icon of my Aunt Pat’s business Granny’s Kitchen Fudge Puppies for the last sixteen years.  At the Minnesota State Fair she is known as Granny.  She reminds everyone of their grandma or the grandma they wish they had.  To my Grandma Dolly, working with Granny’s Kitchen each summer has been one of the great joys in her life.  Granny’s Kitchen gave her a life purpose and a reason to keep going.  (you can see more pictures of Granny at www.grannyskitchenfudgepuppies.com)

This year we celebrated her 90th Birthday at the Minnesota State Fair.  As you can see from the picture, my grandmother is a good sport and has a fun goofy side to her.  Throughout the day, Granny’s fans stopped by to wish her a Happy Birthday and to sign her guestbook.  She loves the attention (although she will never admit it.) 

She is the matriarch of our family, the keeper of our family memories and has been a stable force throughout my life.  She is an amazing woman that we all love very deeply.  Losing my mother when I was 25 was difficult but having my grandmother around for all these years has eased some of the pain.  She is not perfect but she is perfectly wonderful to me.  Please join me in wishing her a very Happy Birthday.

4 Responses to “GRANNY’S 90th BIRTHDAY”

  1. Pam Brown said

    What an inspirational story about your Grandmother. Love the photo too. It shows she has a real sense of humor and joy for life.

  2. Jerome said

    Awesome article. Thanks for writing and posting it.

  3. Martha said

    An inspiration. You let your feelings out. I enjoyed your way to say how your grandma embraces life. 90 and full of life. We can all use that example.

  4. signsofovariancancer.info…

    […]GRANNY’S 90th BIRTHDAY « I Did Not Know What To Say Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
